CFP and Guidelines

Call for papers

Deadline extension Paper submission
11th International Global Wordnet Conference,
Pretoria, South Africa/Venue to be announced
18-21 January 2021

Global Wordnet Association:

Conference website:

The Global Wordnet Association is pleased to announce that the 11th International Global Wordnet Conference (GWC2021) will be held from 18 to 21 January 2021 in Pretoria, South Africa. The conference will be hosted by the South African Centre for Digital Language Resources (SADiLaR).

COVID19 Pandemic

A combination of the approaches successfully implemented by RAIL2020 and LREC2020 will be used as roadmap for the online event – authors will be asked to prerecord their presentations which will be streamed during a live virtual event with opportunity for questions and discussions after each presentation; proceedings will also be published and a reduced registration fee will be applicable.

Conference Topics

Contributions are invited on all aspects of wordnets, including but not limited to:

  1. Lexical semantics and meaning representation
  • Critical analysis and applications of lexical and semantic relations
  • Proposed new relations
  • Definitions, semantic components, co-occurrence and frequency statistics
  • Word and Sense Embeddings
  • Necessity and completeness issues
  • Ontology and wordnet
  • Other lexicographical and lexicological questions pertaining to wordnet-style meaning representation
  • Wordnets and Linked Open Data (LOD)
  1. Architecture of lexical databases
  • Language independent and language dependent components
  • Integration of multi-wordnets in research infrastructures (like CLARIN) and LT networks (like META-NET)
  1. Tools and Methods for wordnet development
  • User and Data entry interfaces
  • Methods for constructing, extending and enriching wordnets
  1. Applications of wordnet
  • Word sense disambiguation
  • Machine translation
  • Information extraction and retrieval
  • Document structuring and categorisation
  • Automatic hyperlinking
  • Language pedagogy
  • Psycholinguistic applications
  1. Standardization, distribution and availability of wordnets and wordnet tools.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions will fall into one of the following categories (page limits exclude references):

  • long papers: 8 pages max, 30 minutes presentation
  • short papers: 5 pages max; 15 minutes presentation
  • project reports: 5 pages max., 10 minutes presentation
  • demonstrations: 5 pages max, with an additional 3 pages screen dumps or images; 20 minutes presentation
  • work in progress: 5 pages max., poster presentation

Submissions should be anonymous and any identifying information must be removed. Authors must state the preferred category, though acceptance may be subject to change in the category of the presentation, e.g. a long paper submission may be accepted as a short paper.

Final papers should be submitted in electronic form (PDF only).

Papers must be submitted to the EasyChair website:

The format of the paper is in ACL format (PDF) and a template can be found at

Important Dates

  • 13 November 2020: Notification of acceptance
    * Check back for important dates which will be on available on the web shortly.
  • Online registration for conference attendance for the 2021 Global Wordnet Conference will open as soon as the after notification of
    accepted papers (13 November 2020).


Conference proceedings will be open access and downloadable from the GWA website. The proceedings will have an ISBN and be published in the ACL anthology.

Papers are only included in the proceedings if at least one author has registered by 20 November 2020.

Inclusion of accepted submissions into the final program and the proceedings is contingent upon at least one author’s registration. Late registration and on-site registration for participants is possible without inclusion of the paper and without presentation.

Conference Chairs

Christiane Fellbaum, 

Piek Vossen,

Local Organising Committee

Sonja Bosch – University of South Africa (UNISA)

Mampaka Lydia Mojapelo – University of South Africa (UNISA)

Marissa Griesel – University of South Africa (UNISA) (contact person:

Elsabé Taljard – University of Pretoria (UP)

Juan Steyn – SADiLaR

Liané van den Bergh – SADiLaR

Program Committee

Eneko Agirre  –  University of the Basque Country

Sina Ahmadi –  Insight Centre for Data Analytics

Timothy Baldwin – The University of Melbourne

Francis Bond  –  Nanyang Technological University

Sonja Bosch –  Department of African Languages, University of South Africa

Paul Buitelaar  – Insight Centre for Data Analytics, National University of Ireland Galway

Bharathi Raja Chakravarthi    –  Insight Centre for Data Analytics, National University of Ireland, Galway

Janos Csirik   –   University of Szeged

Gerard de Melo   – Rutgers University

Valeria de Paiva    –  Samsung Research America and University of Birmingham

Thierry Declerck    –   DFKI GmbH

Bento C.  Dias-Da-Silva   –  UNESP

Umamaheswari E    –   Research Fellow NTU Singapore

Christiane Fellbaum   –   Princeton University

Leonel  Figueiredo de Alencar  –  UNIVERSIDADE FEDERAL DO CEARÁ

Hugo Gonçalo Oliveira   –    University of Coimbra

Ales  Horak –   Masaryk University, Faculty of Informatics

Shu-Kai Hsieh   –  National Taiwan Normal University

Filip Ilievski   –  Information Sciences Institute, University of Southern California

Diptesh Kanojia –  IIT Bombay

Kyoko Kanzaki  Toyohashi  – University of Technology

Shikhar Kr. Sarma   –   Gauhati University

David Lindemann   –  UPV-EHU University of the Basque Country

Ahti Lohk   –  Tallinn University of Technology

John P. McCrae  – National University of Ireland, Galway

Verginica  Mititelu  –  Romanian Academy Research Institute for Artificial Intelligence

Luis  Morgado Da Costa    –    Nanyang Technological University

Sanni Nimb  –   Det Danske Sprog- og Litteraturselskab (DSL)

Sussi Olsen  –   University of Copenhagen, Centre for Language Technology

Heili  Orav   –  University of Tartu

Bolette  Pedersen   –       University of Copenhagen

Maciej Piasecki    –        Department of Computational Intelligence, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology

Marten Postma  – Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Alexandre  Rademaker  –     IBM Research Brazil and EMAp/FGV

German Rigau  –  IXA Group, UPV/EHU

Ewa Rudnicka     –     Wrocław University of Technology

Kevin Scannell      –      Saint Louis University

Pia Sommerauer   –  Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Kadri Vider   –  University of Tartu

Piek  Vossen   –  Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Shan Wang  –   University of Macau